CFUW NORTHUMBERLAND. Canadian Federation of University Women

CFUW-Northumberland News and Events

Thanks to the hardworking Luncheon Committee, we enjoyed another fun and successful event, raising funds for scholarships for young women in Northumberland County! 

Anne Sado

Anne Sado, President of George Brown College, will be the speaker at our May 8, 2019 Scholarship Fundraising Luncheon. 

We look forward to welcoming Anne Sado, President of George Brown College since 2004. Anne’s impact on the vision, direction and culture of the college has seen an almost doubling of enrolment and a significant increase in its physical footprint in the heart of Canada’s largest city. She has also led a critical public discussion on the value of college education in Ontario’s economic development.

Anne Sado was appointed Member of the Order of Canada in 2013. She was recognized as one of Canada’s top 25 Women of Influence in 2014, a YWCA Woman of Distinction in 2012, and one of Canada’s Most Powerful Women by WXN (Women’s Executive Network) over four years leading to her induction in the WXN Hall of Fame in 2014. She was inducted as a fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering in 2015, inducted into the University of Toronto’s prestigious Engineering Hall of Distinction in 2010.

She has also received the Queen’s Diamond and Golden Jubilee Medals, the Professional Engineers Ontario Citizenship Award and an Arbor Award from the University of Toronto. And was recently named Honorary Colonel of the Governor General’s Horse Guards. Anne holds an MBA from University of Toronto as well as a Bachelor of Applied Science in Engineering, and was awarded a Doctor of Laws honoris causa from the University of Toronto in 2011.


Tickets are $65.  Advance ticket sales only.  A partial tax receipt will be issued. 

Visit Victoria Hall box office, 55 King Street West, Cobourg,

or call (905) 372-2210;1-855-372-2210

or online at

Joy Kogawa, Photo by Raymond Lum

Many thanks to Joy Kogawa for her wonderful talk at the 2018 Fundraiser Luncheon, Wednesday, May 9th, at Dalewood Golf Club 7465 Dale Road, Cobourg.


On Monday, January 8 2018, 7:30 PM, Nisha Sarveswaran spoke about STEM, Women in Science and Technology. Nisha is an Aerospace Engineer and CEO of Ambience Data (a member of Northumberland Manufacturing Association).


Dr. Dawn Lavell-Harvard spoke about Truth and Reconciliation at CFUW-N's next general meeting, November, 6, 7:30 PM, at Port Hope High School.


Ruth Clarke spoke about the History of Alderville at CFUW-N's October meeting.


The 2017 Scholarship Luncheon with speaker, Helga Stephenson, was a great success.

Helga Stephenson, recently awarded the Order of Ontario, will speak at CFUW-N's May Scholarship Luncheon. 

Helga Stephenson receives a Canadian Screen Award.

Helga Stephenson is the recipient of this year's Academy Board of Directors' Tribute for her contributions to Canadian film and television.

We are thrilled that Helga will be speaking at our May Scholarship Luncheon.


Women in Film and Television

Helga Stephenson, photo courtesy of Academy--G Pimentel Photography 2016

We’re delighted that Helga Stephenson will be the speaker at the CFUW-N fundraiser luncheon, Wednesday, May 10, 2017, at the Cobourg Lions Centre. Helga will be speaking about Women in Film and Television and the dramatic changes over the years.

Helga recently retired as head of the Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television. An article in The Toronto Star said that Helga “set the stage for the TIFF (Toronto International Film Festival) phenomenon,” and she brought the Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television back to life when it was floundering. The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television produces the Canadian Screen Awards and Canadian Screen Week.

Co-founder of Human Rights Watch in Canada, Helga also serves as Chair of the Toronto Human Rights Watch Film Festival where she was honoured this year. Helga acts as Chair of the Reykjavik International Film Festival.

Helga is a multi-award-winning film and media arts leader having served as Executive Director of the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF) and Chair of Viacom Canada, the Canada Council and the National Arts Centre. Her clients over the years include: AOL Time Warner, the Toronto Film Critics’ Awards, Telefilm Canada, Musee de Beaux Arts and the Canadian Film Centre.

Helga has served as Chair of the Toronto Downtown Jazz Festival and Co-Chair of Metro Toronto Round Table on Culture. She has advised the City of Toronto Mayor’s Economic Partnership Council and the Women’s Leadership Conference of the Americas.


Guest speakers at CFUW-N fundraising luncheons have been as interesting as they are diversified. Last year’s speaker was Alia Hogben, executive director of the Canadian Council of Muslim Women. Previous speakers include Hazel McCallion, former Mississauga mayor; Carol Off, CBC radio and television personality; Lynden McIntyre, a Fifth Estate journalist; Sheila Fraser, former Auditor General of Canada; Stevie Cameron, investigative journalist; and Erika Ritter, playwright and humorist.

The success of the fundraising luncheon since 1991 can be measured by the scholarships awarded. CFUW-N began with a single $200 scholarship, which was later increased to $300, then $500 and is now $750. This year, six $750 scholarships will be awarded to female secondary school students in Northumberland County who are going on to post-secondary education. A $500 bursary is given to a female student from the county who is studying at Sir Sanford Fleming College in Peterborough and an endowment at Trent University in Peterborough, funded by CFUW-N, also provides bursaries to female students in the county.

CFUW-N is proud to announce a new $750 scholarship to support a female student of Non-Status First Nations, Métis or Inuit origin, which will be awarded in June 2016.

The 25th annual fundraising luncheon begins at 11:30 a.m. in the Cobourg Lions Community Centre, 157 Elgin Street East. Tickets can be purchased 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at Victoria Hall, 55 King Street West, Cobourg, or by telephone at 905-372-2210 or 1-855-372-2210. Cheques should be payable to the Town of Cobourg.

Tickets must be purchased in advance. Partial tax receipts will be issued. All are welcome.