CFUW NORTHUMBERLAND. Canadian Federation of University Women

front page

Like us on Facebook —

Scholarship Fundraising Luncheon

Joy Kogawa will speak at our Scholarship Luncheon, Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Joy Kogawa, Photo by Raymond Lum

Joy Kogawa was born in Vancouver in 1935 to Japanese-Canadian parents. During WWII, Kogawa and her family were forced to move to Slocan, British Columbia, an injustice Kogawa addresses in her 1981 novel, Obasan, one of the handful of Canadian novels that have become essential reading for a nation. Interned with her Japanese-Canadian family during WW2, she has worked tirelessly to educate and help redress a dark moment in our history. In 1986, Kogawa was made a Member of the Order of Canada; in 2006, she was made a Member of the Order of British Columbia. In 2010, the Japanese government honored Kogawa with the Order of the Rising Sun “for her contribution to the understanding and preservation of Japanese Canadian history.” 

Her recent book is called Gently to Nagasaki.


The Next General Meeting

Monday, March 5, 2018, 7:30 PM 

at HTM Insurance Co., 1185 Elgin St. W. in Cobourg 

Felicity Hawthorn will speak about her career and how to deal with those to whom we assign Powers of Attorney. 

As a criminal defense lawyer (Toronto and Kingston) and an Assistant Crown Attorney (Lindsay), Felicity has defended and prosecuted murders, robberies, assaults of all types, including sexual assaults, thefts, frauds, and drug cases. She has practiced in the area of prison law, conducting parole hearings, disciplinary hearings and other administrative aspects to the penitentiary system. Felicity has also worked in the mental health sphere, appearing before the Ontario Review Board and the Consent and Capacity Review Board.

Felicity retired in 2016 and now works a few days each month as Duty Counsel in the Criminal Courts. She is also a keen amateur musician.



The Canadian Federation of University Women (CFUW) is a leading national equality-seeking organization that works to advance the human rights of women and girls.

1. Promote high standards of public education in Canada, advanced study and research by women, and a sound concept of lifelong learning

2. Advocate for the advancement of the status of women, human rights and the common good locally, nationally and internationally.

3. Promote cooperation, networking, support and understanding among women.

4. Encourage and enable women to apply their knowledge and skills in leadership and decision making in all aspects of the political, social, cultural, educational and scientific fields.

CFUW's promise

By joining CFUW you will become part of a vibrant group of educated women who are making a difference locally, nationally and internationally.

Executive 2017-2018

President: Ruth Kerr

Vice President: Christine Kwiatkowski

Membership Chair: Margaret Robinson